OK-INBRE Network 

Lead Institutions 

Oklahoma has two institutions whose primary focus is biomedical research.  The largest concentration of biomedical scientists is located in Oklahoma City at The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC) and the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation (OMRF).  The OUHSC includes seven colleges: Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy, Allied Health, Public Health, and the Graduate College.  The OUHSC College of Medicine also has a campus in Tulsa, about 100 miles northeast of Oklahoma City, in which some of its medical students complete their clinical clerkships.  The primary mission of the Tulsa campus of the OUHSC College of Medicine is health care training and delivery.  Adjacent to the OUHSC campus in Oklahoma City lies the OMRF, a non-profit research institution whose exclusive mission is biomedical research.  Although the OUHSC and OMRF are independent entities, a very close working relationship exists between them, including shared use of equipment and facilities and a significant number of scientific collaborations.

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (link to www.ouhsc.edu)

Darrin Akins, Ph.D., Principal Investigator  Darrin-akins@ouhsc.edu

David Dyer, Ph.D., Bioinformatics Core Director  david-dyer@ouhsc.edu  

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation 

 

Primarily Undergraduate Institutions  

Three institutions whose focus is on undergraduate education are members of the original BRIN.  Langston University is Oklahoma's only Historically Black institution of higher education and currently serves more than 4,500 students.  Northeastern State University has a current enrollment of more than 8,000 students including the highest number of Native American students of any college or university in the nation.  Southwestern Oklahoma State University has a current enrollment of nearly 5,000 students and is unique among Oklahoma’s regional universities in offering 9 nationally accredited degree programs in health sciences.  

Three additional campuses expand the original BRIN network.   Southeastern Oklahoma State University, located in the historical Choctaw Nation, includes approximately 3,700 students of which about 30% are Native American.  The University of Central Oklahoma is located approximately 20 miles north of the OUHSC and is Oklahoma's largest primarily undergraduate university with a population of nearly 15,000 students, including about 28% underrepresented groups.  Cameron University is located in southwestern Oklahoma and has an enrollment of approximately 5,500 students including a 40% minority enrollment. 
 
Langston University (link to lu.edu)
INBRE representative: Sharon Lewis, Ph.D.  salewis@lunet.edu 

Northeastern State University (link to nsuok.edu)
INBRE representative: Jessica Martin martinj@nsuok.edu 

Southwestern Oklahoma State University (link to swosu.edu)
INBRE representative: Muatasem Ubeidat, Ph.D.  muatasem.ubeidat@swosu.edu 

Southeastern Oklahoma State University (link to se.edu)
INBRE representative: Nancy Paiva, Ph.D.  npaiva@se.edu 
 
University of Central Oklahoma  (link to uco.edu)
INBRE representative: Wei Chen, Ph.D.  wchen@uco.edu    
  
Cameron University (link to Cameron.edu)
INBRE representative: Terry Conley, Ph.D.   tconley@cameron.edu  
  

Community Colleges

Four community colleges are also included in Oklahoma's INBRE.  Oklahoma City Community College serves 28,000 students and administers a highly successful biotechnology program.  Tulsa Community College ranks second in the nation in awarding Associate degrees to American Indians and serves over 26,000 students.  Redlands Community College, located about 25 miles to the west of Oklahoma City, is one of the state's fastest growing public colleges with a current enrollment of about 2,400 students.  Comanche Nation College, Oklahoma's only tribal college, opened in August 2002. 

Oklahoma City Community College (link to occc.edu)
INBRE representative: Fabiola Janiak-Spens  fspens@occc.edu 
 
Tulsa Community College (link to tulsacc.edu)
INBRE representative: Diana Spencer  dspencer@tulsacc.edu 
 
Redlands Community College (link to redlandscc.edu)
INBRE representative: Reonna Slagell-Gossen  gossenr@redlandscc.edu   

Comanche Nation College (link to cnc.cc.ok.us)
INBRE representative: Johnny Poolaw   jpoolaw@cnc.cc.ok.us