The Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (OK-INBRE) is a program awarded by a grant through the National Institutes of Health Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program to the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.  OK-INBRE began in 2001 with a goal to further enhance the statewide research infrastructure and biomedical research capacity in Oklahoma by: i) building on our established OK-INBRE research network with a scientific focus to strengthen the lead and partner institutions' biomedical research expertise and infrastructure, ii) increasing the research capacity of Oklahoma by providing support to faculty postdoctoral fellows and graduate students at OK-INBRE network partner institutions, iii) providing research opportunities for students from primarily undergraduate institutions, community colleges, and minority serving institutions to serve as a "pipeline" for new students to enter into health research careers, and iv) enhancing the science and technology knowledge of Oklahoma's workforce.  The OK-INBRE Network is comprised of two research intensive institutions, the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation. The scientific themes are multi-disciplinary and span the areas of Cancer, Developmental Biology, and Infectious Diseases.  Significant support is provided to faculty research and institutional infrastructure, undergraduate research through the Summer Undergraduate Research Program, and Bioinformatics and Proteomics Core facilities that serve as statewide research and educational resources to provide faculty, trainees, and students throughout the state with access to the computational tools needed to enhance multidisciplinary biomedical research in Oklahoma.

Acknowledging INBRE Support in Publications/Press Releases  

When citing INBRE in your publications, posters and press releases, NIH requires a specific acknowledgment of NIH grant support, as well as a disclaimer such as: 

"Research supported in this [publication/press release] was supported by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health under award number P20GM103447.  The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health."  

NIH requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication no later than 12 months after publication.