OK-INBRE Leadership and Staff                                 

Darrin R. Akins, Ph.D.
Vice Present for Research

Professor, Microbiology & Immunology 
Director, Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence

940 Stanton L Young BLVD, Room 1064
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
405.271.2133 x46640

Dr. Akins has been Principal Investigator of the Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (OK-INBRE) award since 2009. Dr. Akins is the Vice President for Research and tenured full Professor in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology at OUHSC.  Dr. Akins is an internationally recognized expert in Lyme disease and is an established biomedical research scientist with an excellent history of past and current NIH R01 research funding.  Dr. Akins also has extensive successful administrative experience as the current Vice President for Research, previous Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research, Associate Dean for Research in the College of Medicine, and Assistant Dean of the Graduate College, where in each position he had the ultimate responsibility for enhancing research programs on the OUHSC campus.  Dr. Akins’ laboratory for the past two decades has primarily focused on identifying novel Lyme disease vaccine candidates or other disease modulating therapeutics. Most recently, his laboratory discovered two novel protein export systems in the organism that causes Lyme disease, which are currently being evaluated for the roles they play in this complex disease. He has been continually funded by multiple NIH awards since 2005 for his Lyme disease studies, and his peers have consistently recognized his work with national and regional awards.  

Bioinformatics Core Director

David Dyer,  Ph.D.
Microbial Pathogenesis and Microbial Genomics
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Biomedical Research Center, Room 1106B
975 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK  73104
405.271.1201  x1 

Proteomics Core Director
Michael Kinter, Ph.D.
Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
825 NE 13th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73104


Kristina Taylor
Senior Program Manager
940 Stanton L Young Blvd, BMSB 374
Oklahoma City, OK  73104
405.271.2133 x46614

Quintin Cox
Program Manager
940 Stanton L Young Blvd, BMSB 374
Oklahoma City, OK  73104
405-271-2133 x 46613

Christopher Horton, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences (GPiBS)
Assistant Director, Summer Undergraduate Research Programs (SURP)
Graduate College, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
941 Stanton L Young Blvd, BSEB 123
Oklahoma City, OK  73104