OK-INBRE Network Institutions


Oklahoma has two institutions whose primary focus is biomedical research.  The largest concentration of biomedical scientists is located in Oklahoma City at  The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC) and the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation (OMRF).  The OUHSC includes seven colleges: Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy, Allied Health, Public Health, and the Graduate College.  The OUHSC College of Medicine also has a campus in Tulsa, about 100 miles northeast of Oklahoma City, in which some of its medical students complete their clinical clerkships.  Adjacent to the OUHSC campus in Oklahoma City lies the OMRF, a non-profit research institution whose exclusive mission is biomedical research.  Although the OUHSC and OMRF are independent entities, a very close working relationship exists between them, including shared use of equipment and facilities and a significant number of scientific collaborations.

Three institutions whose focus is on undergraduate education are members of the original BRIN.  Langston University is Oklahoma's only Historically Black institution of higher education and currently serves approximately 3,000 students.  Northeastern State University is the second largest regional university in Oklahoma and has an undergraduate enrollment of 8,100 students. Of these, 32% are American Indian, giving it the highest number of American Indian students of any 4-year college or university in the nation.   Southwestern Oklahoma State University is the third largest regional university in Oklahoma and has a current enrollment of nearly 5,500 students and is unique among Oklahoma’s regional universities in offering 9 nationally accredited degree programs in health sciences, including a Pharmacy School.   Southeastern Oklahoma State University, located in the historical Choctaw Nation, has an enrollment of approximately 5,200 students.  The University of Central Oklahoma is located approximately 15 miles north of the OUHSC and is Oklahoma's largest primarily undergraduate institution with an enrollment of more than 16,000 students.   Cameron University is located in southwestern Oklahoma and has an enrollment of approximately 5,000 students.

SWOSU INBRE representative: Tim Hubin tim.hubin@swosu.edu 

Cameron INBRE representative: Von Underwood vonu@cameron.edu

Langston INBRE representative: Sharon Lewis    lewissa@langston.edu

NSU INBRE representative: Jessica Martin  martinj@nsuok.edu

SE INBRE representative: Nancy Paiva     npaiva@se.edu

UCO INBRE representative: Melville Vaughan mvaughan4@uco.edu    

Four community colleges are also included in Oklahoma's INBRE.  Oklahoma City Community College serves over 19,000 students with nursing, science and engineering being in their top five degree producing programs.  Tulsa Community College has over 28,000 students with almost a quarter of the total being from underrepresented minority populations.  Redlands Community College, located about 25 miles to the west of Oklahoma City, has a current enrollment of about 2,000 students.  College of the Muscogee Nation is Oklahoma's only accredited tribal college.
OCCC INBRE representative: George Risinger  grisinger@occc.edu
TCC INBRE representative:  Jennifer Kneafsey  jennifer.kneafsey@tulsacc.edu
CMN INBRE representative: Mackie Moore  mmoore@cmn.edu   
RCC INBRE representative: Zachary Gutmann  zachary.gutmann@redlandscc.edu

OK-INBRE Interactive Map

Clink on each institution to learn more!