Awards have been granted for 2019.  The next award date will be May, 2020 with and application deadline in February, 2020.  For details on how to apply, please see the Funding Opportunity Announcement


The NIH Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program broadens the geographic distribution of NIH funding for competitive biomedical and behavioral research by enhancing the research capabilities of institutions in eligible states.The IDeA Program aims to achieve this goal through 3 major initiatives: (1) the IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE), (2) the Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE), and (3) the IDeA Clinical and Translational Research Program (IDeA-CTR).

 The Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (OK-INBRE) is requesting applications for Collaborative Grants.A primary goal of the Collaborative Grant program is to foster and develop faculty research programs so faculty researchers may gain valuable experience in designing, conducting and reporting biomedical research, thus enhancing their ability to compete for extramural funding beyond the local level.The primary objective of the OK-INBRE Collaborative Grant program is to foster research interactions between faculty at the primarily undergraduate OK-INBRE institutions (listed above) and their counterparts at the research intensive institutions.The proposal must involve collaborative research with an investigator at one (or more) of the research intensive institutions.The proposed project must align with one of the biomedical research themes of the OK-INBRE program: Cancer, Developmental Biology or Infectious Diseases.


 Application Due Date: February X, 2020, 5:00pm

Peer Review Date:  March/April, 2020

Earliest Anticipated Start Date:  May 1, 2020





University of Central Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

East Central University

University of Oklahoma – Norman or Tulsa campus

Northeastern State University

Oklahoma State University

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

Southeastern State University

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

The University of Tulsa

Cameron University


Langston University


Rogers State University


Oklahoma Panhandle State University


University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma



 OK-INBRE expects to fund at least two Collaborative Grants.  Funding is anticipated to be $50,000 in direct costs per award plus applicable F&A.Awards are expected to run one year in duration (May 1, 2020 – April 30, 2021).


Faculty may submit more than one application, provided each application is scientifically distinct.While faculty may apply for OK-INBRE Collaborative grants, Mini-Grants, and Research Project Investigator Awards simultaneously, they may only receive one award.